Irish Birthday

As always, I have to try a new technique with every cake.  This cake uses a frozen buttercream transfer technique to create the celtic knot design on top.  Being too lazy to trace the knotwork border on the cake (my piping skills aren’t up to free-handing knotwork), I decided to trace the design in royal icing on parchment paper lain over the printed out design.  Royal icing dries hard and inflexible, so in order to have a curve that would fit snugly against the cake, they have to be piped on a curved surface.  I was racking my brains for what would provide the right curvature, when I realized – I baked the cake in a metal pan that just happens to have the exact same curvature of the side of the cake.  Fancy that!  Piped around the sides of the cake pan and left to dry overnight, they were pressed gently against the buttercream – nothing else was needed to make them stick.

One thought on “Irish Birthday

Leave a Reply

